Oh shit, I’ve become a consumerist!

I look down upon myself each time I log into an online shopping site, end up spending hours scouring it for goodies, and then give in to the temptation of buying stuff that is usable indeed, uber cute too, but rarely needed. My only saving grace? That I shop for my baby, and not so much for myself.

But this is getting scary — all these shopping portals that are knocking on my email everyday, luring me to things my baby doesn’t need, convincing me that he does! Because you know what, not only am I shopping from Indian sites, where I have the Cash On Delivery option (which means that when the stuff arrives at home, and I’m not there, my ma-in-law will pay for it, and won’t let me pay her back because the stuff’s for her beloved grandchild!), I’ve discovered that now I can even shop from US sites, without having to pay the huge VAT and ย shipping costs! Yes, it happened to me last night, while I was at it — wasting my time on the internet after Arjun had slept, that I literally stumbled onto this precious nugget of information. And I swear, I didn’t go seeking it, it came right before me like I was meant to consume it. So there now, I have the ease of shopping from the foreign sites that have loads of stuff I have been lusting after and putting on my secret wishlist, making notes of for a time when I’ll be travelling abroad! It’s criminal that I should have access to all this even on my mobile. How am I ever going to stop myself from buying overpriced shoes that my son will outgrow in three months, but that are so totally delectable, or cute Ts and flop hats that I can’t get back home? I’m panicking.

It’s not like I don’t know what’s the right thing to do. But the scariest part is that I don’t want to do the right thing anytime. I think The Guy should be worried, very worried!

4 responses »

  1. Welcome to my world! Except I was shopping for myself. And putting it on credit. I’m on a detox for the month of March…to wean myself off shopping and pay off my cards and then get my savings up again. It’s ridiculous how dangerous online shopping can be!!!

  2. Oh well sweetheart….if you don’t spend on a baby , what would you spend on?!!
    Perfectly normal behavior, I tell you…one that will die its natural death when you realize the rate at which kids outgrow each new purchase..
    Your time shall come…till then, Happy Shopping ๐Ÿ™‚
    And hey, how about sharing that link where you can get stuff without the VAT?? ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Haha! True, that. I tell myself that too — what am I earning for if not to splurge on my baby! Till better sense prevails…

    As for the website, will mail you.

Leave a Reply

