It’s called a babymoon

So I hear. I love how people come up with all these cool terms to justify/describe the stuff they do. And then we all get to borrow those terms. Like this one – it’s called a babymoon. Like a honeymoon, but just before the baby comes, so it’s called the babymoon. Well, so we went on a babymoon. Because everybody has been scaring The Guy and me with depressing prospects of being housebound for months once the baby comes – no holiday, forget travelling, impossible, yada yada… So, I was really keen that we step out of the city at least once before, and if, any of that comes true. And the most feasible option at the moment was going to good ol’ Goa. That place where I don’t have to be a tourist, where I could go and just switch off mentally and relax. Because I so needed to relax. Work’s been so hectic, I really needed the break as well.

We were accompanied by two more couples, both of whom have lovely three-year-olds daughters and the two girls ended up totally in love with me! The Guy is very good with kids (fingers crossed for the future), while I’m good with all kids who’re good to me! Which is why we loved having the girls around us. Totally.

And how was Goa? Just as nice as only Goa can be. We stayed at the Fort Aguada Taj, which I really recommend just for the view. There are so many vantage points from the property where you can sit and do nothing. Yes, that’s what we mostly did – nothing. And it’s something that only Goa can get me to do so well. Elsewhere, I’m just a restless, on-her-toes tourist, looking for new sights and sounds, and getting a whole lot tired in the end. But that wasn’t the purpose of this trip….

The view of the fort and the sea from a restaurant window

And the hotel, it has one of those pools that overlook the sea. And when in the late night we would sit by the pool, we could hear the waves – some as high as the walls of the fort – lashing against each other violently. The dark sea is nothing like the blue waters that frolic about your feet in the day when you walk on the beach; it’s menacing, angry, all-consuming… And yet, you can be at peace with it because that’s just how it’s meant to be.

The pool overlooking the sea

 

 

A lot of people were sceptical about us going to Goa in the middle of the summers. But we brought the monsoons with us to Goa. The moment we alighted from our flight, the skies gave way and the rains came pouring down. All through our stay, we didn’t once get a chance to say how hot or humid or sultry it is. The weather was so benign, and the grey skies would intermittently clear up to show a little bit of blue – just enough to not let the greys begin to depress us.

That's NOT me in the pic

The weather and the hotel and the state of mind aside, what helped me to have so much fun was all the pampering I was getting. The Guy was super nice to me, as he is these days even at home. And my friends were so caring – no demands on me, no questions. Just a lot of space for me to sleep, eat and basically, just be. Just for all that niceness, I could be pregnant forever!

26 responses »

  1. Oh yes we took the babymoon too 🙂 and trust me it’s the best enjoyed holiday ever 🙂 cause it’s special and different 🙂

    I’m glad you guys took time out to enjoy this holiday!

    D,enjoy each minute of being pregnant…I bet you’ll miss being perggers once the baby is out 🙂 so while it is here..rock the phase 🙂

    Take Care…

  2. Congrats D!

    yeah, we went for babymoon as well and it is one of the most cherished trips that we had till date.

    Enjoy the preggers phase.

  3. D, Very Many Hearty Congratulations!!!! I’ve been a silent reader for years now and theres no better time to delurk..Congrats again and enjoy this phase..D, I would like to talk to you and get some suggestions ..Would you mind if I write to your email id? Can you please send me your mail id where I can get in touch with you.

  4. I so wanna go to Goa, but the DH wants to drive.. Not a big fan of driving on the most lonely highway in Karnataka!

    BUT, I am so glad you got to go!! And besides, u guys are probably gonna have sooper cool babies whom u’ll take on more vacations.. Don listen to others 😀

    • Post this holiday, I’ve been telling myself that this baby’s going to make travel to lots of nice places, hopefully 🙂

  5. Awwww babymoon, eh? It’s such a cute term. 🙂 As IHM says, maybe that’s how language evolves.

    The pics are lovely. When we went to Goa, the heat was a little less than what it normally is, so we heard. We enjoyed the trip. Glad you enjoyed your babymoon as well. 🙂

  6. Pingback: Travelling with a toddler to London. Or anywhere. But London, really. | Let Me Be Me

Leave a Reply

