>Did my blog get stereotyped?

Very recently, I realised that I was reading barely a couple of blogs by men! And then I realised, that there are hardly any men reading my blog. Or at least commenting here. Except for a very few. How is that? Do men not feel welcome here?

The answer could be in the question – why don’t I read any men’s blogs? I used to, till they all became very irregular. Like UsP’s. And the Quirky Indian’s, and Rambunctious WhipperSnapper among a couple of others. But obviously, I can’t start reading blogs to correct the gender imbalance in my blog roll.

On the other hand, while I know I bring a feminist point of view to a lot of things, do I write essentialy feminine stuff that men can’t relate to?ย  I talk aboutย myself a great deal here, but that shouldn’t make men wary of this blog now. And if it does, that thought is so offensive to the woman in me! I also talk a great deal about society, and other vague stuff that’s not necessarily classified into masculine/feminine categories. So why is it that men don’t make their presence felt too often around here?

However, I do see quite a few of the male species on the Followers’ list. So, will the men out there, please stand up?

To the women, I’d like to ask – is blogging something women take to more than men? If yes,ย then what is it about blogging that appeals more to a woman’s sensibilities?

12 responses »

  1. so this is my first comment on your blog, thanks for moving to wordpress. i ahve been always meaning to comment but cld not. welcome

  2. hi, I am a guy, not a big fan, but do follow ur blog on google reader,
    so you woudnt know i do.
    do not read all ur posts but some that i like

  3. First of all WELCOME TO WORD PRESS ๐Ÿ™‚

    I think you write general stuff, but maybe (maybe) a lot of men write about technology, politics and cricket, only the few who do write and read about everything else are likely to comment here…

  4. welcome to wordpress D:)

    P.S. I’m sure you don’t even recall that I follow you blog religiously ๐Ÿ˜‰ Any way I’m glad you moved in here…

  5. Pingback: Redefining The Blog | Ginger & Cardamom

  6. I also read your blog but was wary of putting my comment. ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t the gender of the writer matters. It’s more to do with the content.

Leave a Reply

