>Updates from a Survivor

>I survived it, that thing called work and that condition called overworked. Yesterday was the first Sunday in a month probably that I’d not spent at work. I had been working on every off, even festival holidays because there was so much happening in the office. On most days, I was the first one to arrive and the last one to leave. Because with great power comes great responsibility. And what am I if not Superwoman, eh?!

So there I was doing 10-12 hour days at work, only to come home, get ready and be off to celebrate someone’s biirthday, someone’s baby’s birth, someone’s Eid get-together… And I have to give it to The Guy for being super patient all the while. If I were in his shoes, I’d be bored and whiny. He was plain supportive, just like I like my man to be – missing me but not killing me with guilt. He messaged me a dozen times to tell me he was missing me the night we closed the special edition we’d been working on, and I landed at for a party after midnight!

It’s been like a roller coster ride. Lots of yelling, highs and lows, twists and turns, fear, excitement, joy to be doing something I’d never done before. But this roller coster ends right on the top. The extra hours, the working in my sleep and the tendency to eat/breathe work has paid off, I guess. Hopefully, it’s all been worth it. But I’m glad now to be getting back to a more normal pace at work.

I want some quietude, some time to relax, to go get a pedicure, to get my arms and legs waxed instead of picking up the razor as a last minute resort, to get a facial once in six months, like normal women do. I’d like to have enough time to not have to go out on a limb just to meet my sick nephew. Or have to plan a call to my cousin who’s suffering from dengue. I was planning a European holiday – to look and explore and learn. Now, I just want to go to place where I can unwind, to switch off my Blackberry and deactivate all email notifications. And I wonder what it must be like for my boss, who has ten times more sh$% to handle than me!

But does that mean this pace is killing me? That I want time out? No, not yet. I think that after all, this is how I like it. I like my days full, my head crammed with ideas, my heart and head all in one place. But if I could slow down just a tad bit, I’d be able to stretch myself out longer, I think. And blog a little more!

Considering how erratic I have been with blogging, I should be considering shutting down this blog. Most days I have no time to come and write here, others I have no coherent thoughts! But I can’t give up blogging. I can’t! I like it here – to be talking, to be around here listening to what you have to say. Even in this mad rush of the last month, I’d check up on a few fave blogs, just to de-stress, just to check up on bloggers I was thinking about. I don’t think I can blog with the same fervour that I did before, because that fervour has gone to work with me, but I still can’t stop being a blogger!

10 responses »

  1. >Welcome back!!And, we always new ur were a Supawoman :DA holiday sounds like a fantastic idea. Sometimes I think we should make a vacation (proper one) every 6 months mandatory!

  2. >keep blogging and stay connected as far as possible :)I'm glad that your days are full the way you want them to be :)Which Mag launch is this about ? Congrats any ways :)Take a break..good idea that 😀

  3. >Hi D!New to ur blog. Happen to chance upon it recently during ur absence. And u know wat, have read all your posts by now…word by word…relating to them absolutely. First, the same name initial D, then the profession may be, and a lot abt the way u think and write. Was waiting for u to be bk so that i cud tell u how much i enjoyed ur blog. Keep going…

  4. >Wow… hats off to you super woman… I know how crazy work can get sometmes but blog as well please..Hope things turned out well for which you worked soooooooooooooo hard…and if you need a vacation, you always have a place here..

  5. >@Goofy: There was no launch. I was just working a couple of special issues. But thanks anyway :)@Dee: I could kill for a vacation just now!@Scribblr: No mag and no launch. Did I give that impression? @Deepti: Hi Deepti! Welcome to my blog. Am glad there's someone at least who was waiting for me ;)@How do we know: Thank you! @Prats: Thank you 🙂 It's been a release of energy more than anything else!@Soulmate: Awww…that's sweet of you to say :)And I will keep blogging, more or less.

Leave a Reply

