>The Year That Was

>It’s that time of the year again when a re-cap of all things that have been is expected and accepted. And who am I to break conventions, especially ones that I enjoy? Ever since I started blogging, I’ve had an year-ender post up on my blog every year end. And I do it not so much for others as for myself – to remember things that are worth remembering and to remember that even the worst things are forgotten when you think back.

2009 has been a year of so many things for me – of growing up, most importantly. (Yeah, finally, that too must be done) But there are so many more interesting labels I can give this year.

For one, it’s been the Year of the Traveller in Me. I travelled a fair bit last year. From a week in Goa in Feb, a blink-and-you-miss-it but thoroughly enjoyable trip in March to Mumbai where I was invited to be part of a wedding with Amitabh Bachchan among other celebs! A weekend in Banaras where I blew up more money shopping for irresistible hand-woven cottons and silks than I spend on Goa and Mumbai holidays combined! In June, Nainital beckoned us – six crazy couples out for a crazy holiday in the hills. In July I took a road trip to Agra and Vrindavan with my parents – a half religious, half luxury trip! The Independence Day weekend in August was spent in a palace hotel in Jaipur. And in December, I was off to Delhi for my annual shopping holiday! But I’m not tired yet. Give me more, I say!

It’s also been the Year of Photography for me. I got my first SLR camera in April and since then I’ve clicked thousands of pics. In a place like Nainital, where Lucknow folks travel to almost every year, I clicked some 500 photos! I became the official photographer at friends’ parties! So much so that people expect to see me with my camera almost always. In the last year, I’ve come to be associated with my camera. And I love it.

It’s been the Year of Odd Writing Jobs. I miss writing. And I miss being in the media industry full time. 2009 has been a year of moving beyond that realisation and doing something about it. I refused two very tempting offers at the beginning of the year, one of them of editorship of a very well-known paper outside the city. But I went on to do writing assignments I had never done before. From freelancing for a newspaper to writing customised matter for invitation cards, working for an NGO and dabbling in academic writing for websites – I’ve been where I never thought I would be. And let me admit, I did some things just for the money.

2009 has been the Year of Vanity in small measures. It started with our trip to our ancestral home in Behraich in January with close friends which, being as much fun as it was in such an unconventional place and in such unconventional ways, piqued everyone’s interest in us. My birthday celebration, also being so out of the box, put me on the social map of the city without my trying to be there. And what else would I credit a year with that has brought me the tag of being always well-dressed? Oh yeah, please let me bask in some effortless glory but let me also add that I’m not going to ever chase it.

But if anything at all, this year has been a Year of the Highest Highs and the Lowest Lows. I started the year with a big bang: I was raring to go, ready to soak in all the experiences life would throw at me. I had resolved to test new waters this year – do the new in small, irrelevant ways. And I succeeded at that. I was riding high on this wave of sensory and spiritual experimentation when I undertook all my journeys. I was constantly trying to come up with new ways to make life more fun. And then I hit rock bottom: the lowest of the lows I’ve experienced in all of my life. Professionally, financially, emotionally, I had never felt so hopeless before. But the year end feels like life has a come a full circle: I’m back to where I started – my spirits buoyant, my hopes high and I’m ready to take whatever comes my way in the new year.

And on that note, let me wish all of you a very Happy 2010! Here’s to many more years of blogging – Cheers! See you next year.

19 responses »

  1. >This year for me has been an year of different "me"….discovering a part of me which I did not even know existed..This year I have gone places,found horizons and finally saw light…Loved this one!

  2. >Well, even for me, this year has had several highs but some really low blows too..I cannot say with confidence however if its been a good year :)But, you my dear, have a wonderful and happy 2010..Loads of love,Dee

  3. >@Nu: On a blog that has comment moderation on, it's difficult to say if you're first. But you ARE first! Yay!@Aarini: Oh, what a beautiful year this has been for you! God bless!@Titaxy: Thank you. @Patricia: It's not been a bad year which means it's been a good year! 🙂 Thank you for the wishes.@NIMZ: Thank you!@Dee: I know what you mean… It's been the same for me too. But time to look ahead. Take care.@Goofy: Thank you! I hope so too.@JLT: Thanks a ton!

  4. >2009 has been one of the best years of my life. I got what ever i asked for..yups ..whtever i asked for. And m worried now that its coming to an end. Thats wht a gud year does to u. But life moves on and i armed with new lessons and experience to tackle the coming year. All the best Ms D. Keep the spirits high.

  5. >@Miss M: Oh yes! Am going to a private party with all my friends. Should be fun!@Abha: Thank you! And thank God you're back from your blog break! Had been missing you around.@Psych Babbler: Honestly, the year wasn't particularly great. But yes, dwelling on the lows doesn't really help, does it?@Peenuts: Wow! And * Touchwood * Hope you have an equally good 2010.

Leave a Reply

