>Quote unquote

>I’ve just put down Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert and loved the book. Not just because I like the book so much for what it is but because I found one of my favourite quotes in there:

“I was never not coming here. This was never not going to happen.”



It’s a quote that sums up by my philosophy of life in no more than two lines and so much more beautifully that I ever could have.

And then I got thinking about all those lines that have stayed with me during so many years of reading. I first read Wuthering Heights in standard XII and the whole class of girls fell in love with the idea of the dark and broody Heathcliff. But there were these lines in particular that Catherine says of her love for Heathcliff that we ooh-ed and aah-ed over:

“If all else perished and he remained I should still continue to be; and if all else remained, and he were annihilated the universe would turn to a mighty stranger: I should not seem a part of it… I am Heathcliff.

Doctor Faustus is also one of my favourite reads because Christopher Marlowe seems to have written some two hundred years ago what all mankind can feel even now:

“Why this is hell, nor am I out of it.

Thinks’t thou that I who saw the face of God

And tasted the eternal joys of Heaven,

Am not tormented with ten thousand hells,

In being deprived of everlasting bliss?”



And there’s the simplicity if these lines in Alice Walker’s very complex book Color Purple that appeals to me:

I think it pisses God off if you walk by the color purple in a field somewhere and don’t notice it.



Take the time to smell the flowers, to stop and see the beauty around you. Simple, ain’t it?

My fifth most favourite quote is from a famous play by Samuel Beckett called Waiting for Godot:

“Nothing to be done.”

You won’t know how much that line means if you don’t believe a little in existentialism – how we all exist for the sake of existing though there’s nothing really to be done in this life.

Those are a few of my favourite quotes. What are yours? I’d love to hear.

17 responses »

  1. >there are so many things i like about this book and so many quotes that I can take out and make sense off. I can read this over and over. something about it is very inspiration and it's not the fact that she could leave what was supposed to be a 'secure' relationship.as for my fav quotes….i like this"There will be times when you will be in the field without a camera. And, you will see the most glorious sunset or the most beautiful scene that you have ever witnessed. Don't be bitter because you can't record it. Sit down, drink it in, and enjoy it for what it is! ~DeGriffI have this on my blog too and it's not necessarily about the fact that it talks about having a camera or not but because in a larger sense it tell me to enjoy every moment in life for what it is.

  2. >One of my all time favorite quotes has been this by Thomas Jefferson:"I never considered a difference of opinion in politics, in religion, in philosophy, as cause for withdrawing from a friend."And how very true it is if you consider a genuine friendship.

  3. >@A: I have such a huge hangover of Eat Pray Love! And that quote by DeGriff is also beautiful, somewhat in the same vein as the one from Color Purple.@Miss M: True friendship is above and beyond those things. That this is your favourite quote says a lot about the kind of friend you would be.@JLT: If you love that book, you may also remember another quote from it where Catherine compares her love for Edgar to the foliage and her love for Heathcliff to the rock below – unchanging. It's another one of my favs from the book.

  4. >Pardon my poor English and comprehensions, but all those quotes that you unquoted to quote, went above my head.. :-(I did start to read Wuthering Heights many times, but somehow it became so difficult for me to understand, that I left it.. Should I go back to school again!!! He he he..

  5. >Hi,Glad to see all familiar characters from the famous literature being gathered here in your post. Really I had enjoyed each and every one of these but the best and most loved was 'Waiting for Godot', for sometime I had this habit of comparing all the situations in life with this play and used to love at the absolute aptness of it in every situation and from then on I had loved black comedies. Regarding Heathcliff, I always had this image about him in my mind and used to have vivid imagination of each scene by scene when I read 'Wuthering heights'.take careRekha

  6. >@JLT: 🙂 Another lover of WH!@I scribble here: That indeed is very positive! @Soulmate: Which one of those quotes did you not understand? Tell me, I'll be glad to explain. As for Wuthering Heights, well, you really have to get involved with that book to understand it, I guess.

  7. >I love this quote by OSHOLifeLife is only an opportunity to grow, to be, to bloom. Life in itself is empty; unless you are creative you will not be able to fill it with fulfilment. You have a song in your heart to be sung and you have a dance to be danced.Drop comparing and life is really beautiful. Drop comparing and you can enjoy life to the full. And the person who enjoys his life has no desire to possess, because he knows the real things of life which are worth enjoying cannot be purchased."Live each moment as if this is the last moment: put all at stake, risk all and you will be immensely surprised that life becomes a tremendous miracle. Everything starts vibrating with life, everything becomes a message. Every flower becomes a bible or a Koran or a Gita, and every star becomes a proof, enough proof that life is not just material. Every experience of beauty proves that life is more than matter. Every time your say aha! You are saying a prayer. " – Osho

  8. >but if you don't believe in God, can you walk by color purple without noticing it? ;pI like einstein's quote: Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.how true is that!

  9. >@Rekha: Oops! I'm sorry I missed replying to your comment. My mistake!As for Godot, when I first read it I didn't quite understand it except for superficially. Over the years, the play has made more sense than before.@SMM: Hopping over right now.@Suresh: That's very interesting!

  10. >Firstly, I really like your style of writing, I am commenting for the first time though.Now coming to your question, one of my favourite quote actually comes from a movie–Forest Gump. It is: "I don't know if we each have a destiny, or if we're all just floating around accidental-like on a breeze, but I, I think maybe it's both. Maybe both is happening at the same time."Sometimes no matter how hard we try, things just don't work out…may be because it's just not meant to be that way!

  11. >@Anamika: Next time you like some lines, put them down somewhere you can go back to 🙂 @Mamta Sharma: Thank you! And that quote from Forrest Gump is so apt. I could have used it for my last post 🙂

Leave a Reply

