>Let’s talk about birds and bees…

>…of the literal kind, just in case you were thinking something else.

With my days spent mostly at work, I’ve never been able to spend much time with the winged visitors that frequent my place (and there are quite a few of them, thanks to the open spaces, the trees, the bird baths that any puddle of stagnant water can be called). When it’s time for me to come home, the birds are already on their way back home too and I just catch a glimpse of them flying back. This Sunday, however, I wasn’t going to let them go without posing for my camera.

The pigeon was the most camera-friendly and ready to be clicked up, close and personal.

So was this black and white beauty whom I managed to capture on my camera with much ease.

But I wish I could say the same about these green-coloured, tiny, flighty birds who were so well camouflaged in the green of the trees they perched on that it was difficult to say where the leaves and the green wings of these birds merged. But I finally managed to catch them taking a breather on the bamboo fencing:

This noisy fellow was caught sitting high up on our Christmas tree. Is that an angry expression or what?

I wish I knew the names of all these creatures, but I’m bad with bird names. However, I did google to find that this common house bird with the yellow beak is the mynah:

Any idea what this pretty one sitting on the tree stub is called? It’s got a little bit of red on the top and little on the tail, a very pointed beak, a black crest on its head.

But I wonder what these two were doing on the cable. I played around with the pic and turned it into a monochromatic piece I’d like to title: “Et tu, Brutus?” But then, that’s me on my flights of fancy!

For you I’m also uploading a coloured version of this couple sitting on the cable:

And now that I’ve exhausted all my cliches for birds, there come the bees, just so that you know I ain’t just making up stuff about the bees when I talk about the birds and the bees in the title.

Edited to add: I did a little bit more of googling to find the names of these birds. The black one (second picture) is the Oriental Magpie Robin. Fancy name!

The tiny green birds may be the Green backed Tit and the angry-looking bird on the Christmas tree is probably the Jungle Babbler. And the bird with the red patches is most likely to be the Red-whiskered Bulbul, methinks. Tell me if you know better.

31 responses »

  1. >I enjoy watching birds from my window…they seem so active all the time and they talk to each other all the time. Currently have this cute pair of cardinals in our garden who chase each other all over the place. Hilarious to watch. Bees – i tend to steer clear of them. Even a photographic lens is not enough distance for me!

  2. >@Chakli: Technically speaking, those are wasps but I steer clear of them as well. However, the distance of a photographic lens is safe enough for me.@Sangfroid: I think I would see more birds at my place than at Nawabganj considering what a decrepit conditions that sanctuary is in!@Swaram: Thank you. And yeah, I do realise I'm lucky!

  3. >Wow, you inspire me. girl. To do a post on birds at least, though i have bees in my garden.However, I am going to do a post on my surroundings at least.

  4. >@Rohini: Mindblowing compliments πŸ™‚ Thank you!@Mystic: I find the Red-whiskered Bulbul the prettiest! And yes, among other things at home, we have a beehive, a nest, frogs and some monkeys :)@Mampi: I loved your last post on all the creatures in your house! It made me notice the one in my home more carefully πŸ™‚

  5. >Lovely pics D, though I must confess I have an enormous(albeit irrational) fear of winged creatures of any kinds! 😦 Mustve taken quite an effort to capture these, esp as birds tend to be on their guard at all times!

  6. >Birds and bees.. misleading indeed ;)Bird watching.. wonder when I did that the last time. But my fav pass time is to feed the pigeons some peanuts while gulping down beer. They make more interesting companions than some boring people.

  7. >Ok I have bats entering my apartment in Mumbai..But I guess they are also "nature" right? Wrong.They are evil..Anyway back home in Assam, we had kinfishers and hoopoes nesting in the jungle backyard..sigh!! :-)You are lucky .

  8. >You have a beautiful home if you have such lovely companions:)lucky you:)Delhi has very few such sights to see if any:((all the pics are beautiful :)and hats off to your patience!:))

  9. >I like the Oriental Magpie Robin pic. The entire frame is well compose. in fact the fence, the red part of the roof, the green window provides for a perfect background.I also like the monochromatic piece better than the actual one. I'm thinking of doing picture post once a week so that I showcase some of my experiments too. what say?

  10. >@Piper: Yes, they do tend to take flight even before you can think 'click'. Which is when I realised I need to get more powerful lenses.@Avaran: Yes, the Oriental Magpie is supposed to be found in Kerala. I wonder what they are doing in Lucknow!@J: If you drink beer while feeding pigeons, you must start drinking very early (?)@lostonthestreet: I am terrified of bats – no beauty there for me!@Indyeah: Thank you. And I'm thankful too for the place I live in!@Goofy Mumma: Thank you! It's been a long, long time since I got pics printed, thanks to digicams. But there's a thought to hold there.@A: Of course you should! It would be lovely!

  11. >Phenomenal pictures! The magpie robins sing very tunefully, very very early in the morning.The babblers always look kind of scruffy, don't you think!

  12. >vevy vevy nice! πŸ™‚ its must be much fun to get to see all these around the ghar!we get to see squirrels and monkeys every now and then! πŸ™‚ cheers!abha

  13. >@Dipali: Yes, the Babblers look very scruffy and that name kinda suits them!@sscribbles: πŸ™‚ Do it sometime – stop to appreciate the beauty of nature – it's fun!@Abha: Now squirrels actually scare me these days: they're not the shy and docile animals anymore that they used to be when I was a kid.

  14. >What a delightful post D & lovely pictures there!I envy the lovely greens you have. Reminds me of my parent's place. Here is the concrete jungle, I feel claustrophobic at times.

  15. >D; show me a pub or a bar that opens at 7AM and i'll be there.. pigeons or not ;)Most of the pigeons I feed are the daring ones.. they fly down under the tables close to a busy road and beg for food… i've had instances when they have drilled holes into other's canvas shoes in the hope of having more peanuts.

  16. >@I scribble here: Please drop me a line on my email add – d.letmebme@gmail.com – if you face problems in posting comments again. For now, I think it's pretty much sorted out.And no, your comment didn't vanish, it was just waiting for author approval :)@Monika, Ansh: I want to enjoy these open spaces as long as I can. Never know when they'll raze down the trees here to make a parking lot!@Roop: Hope you're feeling better :)@J: I know what you're talking about. It's the survival instinct. We're driving animals and birds to this by taking over their spaces. It's scary how gutsy they have become.

  17. >Good use of Nikon D50… Keep clicking.. Can see you have a variety of birds visiting your house.. Lucky you.. The joys of staying in a house and not a flat… πŸ™‚

  18. >@Soulmate: It's a Nikon D60 πŸ™‚ And yes, there are plenty of joys of living in a house like mine, but believe me there are plenty of disadvantages as well! @simplyme: πŸ™‚ Yeah, I sleep the least on Sundays. Even wake up early because there's so much I want done on the single day I get off from work! But where you are right now, sleeping the day away is not a bad option at all πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

