>Since you didn’t wish me on the 18th, wish me happy birthday now!

>If age is inversely proportional to the fun you can have on your birthdays, I don’t mind growing old.

As far as I can think back, this is the best birthday I’ve had. I generally like to keep my birthdays low key – just celebrate the day with my close friends and family. But having done that year after year and always feeling a little disappointed with the day, I decided to go all out and have a bash! Probably because the day became so much more about the party and less about my birthday, I was able to have a really good time.

But I can’t gloss over the details if I want to tell you about all the fun I had. My day was simple enough – I spent the whole of it receiving birthday wishes from friends and family who were calling me from all over the world! I can’t think of anybody whom I expected to call me but who didn’t. A party was planned at my place in the evening for about 60 people. And since I’m such a sucker for doing things differently, I had decided on a theme party for my birthday: a red carpet Awards Night!

And if you’re doing a theme party, you might as well go the whole hog, I think. So we did have a red carpet welcome for our guests with follow lights, fake paparazzi flashing bulbs into the fake celebs’ eyes, a music band, wine and shine! My friends – N and M – played the part of the hosts for the evening (as in hosts of the Awards function) asking guests questions about who they thought would be getting an award tonight, if they were expecting one or things like who they were wearing for the awards!

And then came the Awards – cheeky, outrageous, funny, wicked! We couldn’t possibly have awarded all the guests, so we chose about 15 most sporting people on the guest list and decided to pull their leg by honoring them for something that they wouldn’t ever imagine being honored for. So for a really flirty bachelor, the award was ‘For hitting even on a female mannequin’. Another one for a cricket crazy friend was ‘Most likely to sleep with balls and a bat!’ There were more wicked awards that elicited a lot of laughs but whose humour would be lost on people who don’t know the recipients of the awards. T did a great job at being the emcee for the evening, peppering the show with her witty one-liners.

Let it suffice to say that everybody loved the concept and took it very sportingly. As asked of them, the guests turned up in their glam avatars. The women in gowns and dresses, the men in glares and jackets. The Guy himself braved the heat to wear a tux! Thank God for the good weather without which he would have probably melted in his clothes.

Yours truly wore a black and white one-shouldered gown and, at the risk of sounding totally immodest, looked quite the show-stopper the birthday girl should look! And having said that, I think I truly deserved the award that was sprung on me by my friends as a surprise – a sash and a crown for being ‘Mis-conception’ for having all the misconceptions in the world about myself. And if that doesn’t impress you, you should hear what The Guy was awarded for: ‘The Lifetime Achievement Award for marrying D’!

The award ceremony was followed by drinks, dancing and dinner in somewhat that order. Totally taken in by all the compliments and by the love of my friends, I can safely say I had a great time on my birthday. Some things that made it special-er for me were:

  • How my friend V, the bahu of a very conservative Marwari family, decided to give me the shock of my life by turning up in a black evening dress! She could have easily come draped in a saree, as she always does. But I felt so special that she’d dared to break out of the mould on my birthday. Muah to her!
  • I called up Mandy and his wife H about two days before my birthday asking them to fly down from Gurgaon for the weekend. They gave me such genuine excuses for not being able to make it that their appearance was a jaw-dropping kind of surprise for me. On the 17th, I was at a friend’s birthday party and just about a little past 12, Mandy and H turned up there! It was super exciting!
  • KP and M dropped in early morning (9 am is early morning for me) to wish me a happy birthday over breakfast. It was such a pleasant surprise!
  • The band I’d booked for the evening was the best I could arrange. But they had a limited repertoire of songs so I had asked them to make necessary arrangements for me if I wanted to attach an iPod to the sound system. But when the time came to switch to our favourite song list on the iPod, we realised they didn’t have the provision to attach the iPod. Thanks to Am and Soo’s ingenuity, we managed to somehow get the music playing. I was so thankful that they were so resourceful and made my party go on till 4 in the morning because of the great music they played.
  • Of course, without M, T and N’s help we couldn’t have managed to pull of the show. Love ’em for being such creatively helpful friends!
  • The Guy was such a great host, it made it so easy for me to forget that I was entertaining friends at a place. Thanks to him, I was able to drink till I was drunk, dance till I was done!

I could go on forever about the celebrations, but I hope I’ll very soon have pics to do more talking!

45 responses »

  1. >I did, i did, i did wish you… and twice hee heelady, do you live in a palace? 60 guest, red carpet et al. and me wanna see you in the gown. please please please. glad you went all out and had a blast. birthdays should always alternate between quiet celebrations and bashes.

  2. >forget brooding about abandoning a career in the print media…become an events planner (i wish i had a better word…events planner sounds too Dubey ji)…you have all the flair of it.belated birtday greetings and hope the year ahead treats you well. have a baby (insert evil laughter)…you will be partying till 4am and have non stop music, hee heee

  3. >Pics would be much appreciated! Especially of the gown you wore 🙂 That sounds like SOME party… I’ve been toying with the idea of having a bash for my birthday this year since my birthday turns out to be very low-key every single year. The trouble is it’s bang in the middle of christmas hols and none of my friends will be here… and am contemplating throwing a very early bday bash for that reason.. love your idea… might borrow ;)Oh where ARE my manners?! BELATED HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!

  4. >hey… wishes… 🙂 ill be immodest enough to guess, but this is bthday 29? and gosh, ill never host a party! it sounds so much easier just going and attending one!

  5. >Wish you a belated happy b’day. I’m sure u had a great day by the sound of it. Oh I’d love to host a part like dat some day and I will. Loved the theme.Happy B’Day once again.

  6. >WOW!! What a bash! Wish I was part of your partying fraternity! Can’t wait for the pics!Here’s an award from me “Queen of Parteeeeeeee-Throwers!!”And HAPPY BIRTHDAY girl. DOn’t need to tell you to rock, coz you so obviously did and do!!

  7. >@D- Wow…….Sounds like an absolutely amazing party.What a way to celebrate your birthday!!!Happy Birthday to you.I know you don’t share pics but cummon give us a glimpse of your evening gown!!

  8. >@GM: Thank you :)@A: Of course you did. And so did a few others. I should have an alternate title for this post for all of them 🙂 And yes, the luxuries of living in a place like Lucknow is having a palatial house if not a palace itself.@Some regional language I do not understand: I did not at any point in this blog give the impression that I understand anything but English and Hindi, so where is this coming from???@Aneela: Not a bad idea at all – the one about even management and also about the baby ;)Thanks for the wishes!@DewdropDream: You’replanning for a December party already? Wow! And go ahead and throw a red carpet party – the guests love it because it gives them a chance to dress up and looking pretty/handsome.

  9. >@unsung: Thank you. I could’ve written a booze clues type of pose for this one :)@Chrysalis: Thank you!@Sunshine: You are too? Excellent!@Avaran: Oh yeah, and loving the year before the big 0, I mean 3-0.@Sampoorna: Need any help throwing a party, lemme know!@Bones: Thank you!@M4: Oh, I love that award! Thank you so much. I guess I’ll organise an online party for my blog friends and make sure you’re there 🙂 How does that sound?@Monika, Ansh: I will, I will. Just waiting for the photographer to send me the CD.

  10. >Many,many , many happy returns of the day….belated :(Your birthday bash sounds great … I can imagine the all the fun and laughter 🙂 Loved your theme!! Would love to see the pictures!

  11. >a belated happpyy burdaaeeeee D :)what a crazy night! I imagined it all while reading the post ;)Hope you have another rocking b’day next year too!! May God Bless you!! *hugs*

  12. >@IHM: Just got my hands on the party pics. Some of ’em should be up by tomorrow.@Saima: Thanks! And yes, we did have a lot of crazy fun!@Monika: I sure did!@Sirop: Thank you :)@Sindhu: I hope to share some pics. Let’s see…

  13. >oh th regional language was malayalam…. though not consequential…. it translates to ‘even i dream a lot, only thing, morning dawns fast!” yea i know, dont kill me…. trust mallus to spoil their collective reputation

  14. >@Avaran: Thanks for the translation. Now enlighten me on the context in which this may have been said. Actually, don’t. I can’t be bothered with something that vague.@Sangfroid: Wow, I love how many Ariens blog!@Aneri: Of course! I could accomodate 200.

  15. >@sscribles: In my part of the world, it’s quite normal to be throwing parties for these many people. Really.@Nisha: Thanks a ton!@hmmlife: Thank you!

  16. >belated Happy Birthday!! tho i did wish you in my head on the 18th! the wedding was so maddeningly busy, PLUS i didnt save your number like a doofus!!! grr!my loss! :(the birthday sound brilliant D!heres wishing you many more of those!!!hugsabha

  17. >@Mumbai Diva: That means you like the idea or you don’t?@Abha: I was waiting for your call 😦 Honestly!@Avaran: Yessir. Am still recuperating from my b’day hangover and am getting back into the reading-blogs groove.

  18. >Oh thats super! Belated Happy Birthday, I’m dressed in my Madonna outfit just to celebrate your birthday. That’s quite something given I am at work!

  19. >Belated Happy Birthday….this sounds like a wonderful theme for a party. Think I will borrow it myself sometime if you don’t mind of course :)Where are the pics? PLiss post soon.

  20. >@SMM: I was kidding, you know that :)@my space: Now there are some side-effects of living in a city like Mumbai – you don’t get to attend parties like this 😉

  21. >wishes for a good year to come up for you.and the pics are of course, fabulous, i went to the other blog to see your ( face blurred) pics, they are great.

Leave a Reply

