>What will be, will be

>Last night The Guy and I dressed up in our pretty party clothes, got into our car and headed to our friend’s place for a Diwali do. On the way, it dawned upon us that we hadn’t got them any gift. So we stopped at a shop to pick up a box of chocolates. We ended up buying a piece of crockery instead – not very expensive but very presentable indeed! And while the gift was being painstakingly wrapped, the conversation with the friendly shop owner veered to the erratic stock market, the impact on the fortunes of millions of people and Diwali. We rued the state of the economy and the effect of the recession on various industries, we commented on the cut-throat competition at our work place and his, we sympathised with the shopkeeper next door who had to shut shop because of dwindling finances and tough competition… And then The Guy and I paid for our purchases, got into our car and drove off to the party at a swanky apartment in a posh locality where the hostess had brought out her best china, silverware and treated us to her culinary expertise.

All I’m trying to say is that it took us precisely as much time to forget about the sad state of the economy as it took us to step out of that shop. Five minutes later, we were too busy enjoying the good things of life to care about how the recession was affecting us.

Conversations about the rollercoaster ride that the Sensex has taken so many investors on keep coming up every now and then. The Guy checks every few hours how many points the Sensex has dipped or soared, never ceasing to be amazed by its downward trend. Newspaper headlines remind us to be wary of the times ahead, though in not so many words. And yet, we continue to live like nothing’s wrong with this world.

I hear the markets are deserted despite Diwali being around the corner. But I’m still heading to the market every other day to buy gifts for family and friends, to shop for new clothes for the festival season, to indulge in fancy diyas and candles. I’m attending parties every single day: food trials at upcoming restaurants, pre-Diwali bashes, cards parties, grand first birthday celebrations, late nights, more invitations to more fancy parties… It’s almost as if my life’s insulated from all that’s happening in the real world. I pretend every morning that work is still the same when I know that it may have changed irreversibly though that may become evident only six months later. I like to believe that nothing has changed yet.

It’s not as though the rate of inflation doesn’t bother me. It’s also not like I have saved enough to see me through a lifetime of financial crunches. It’s just that I don’t have an option but to go on with life doing what makes me happy. And is there anything I can do to make things different? At work, I’m giving more than my hundred percent, but I can’t wish back the money we’ve lost in mutual funds, can I?

I cannot be eternally bothered about these things just as I cannot be eternally bothered about when the government will finally take away my house. When they have to, they will and I know I’ll be able to do nothing about it then just as I’m able to do nothing about it now.

I think about these problems with a heavy heart because there are some problems of life you cannot resolve by yourself. And they are the worst, because they leave you feeling so helpless. But if I have to make a choice between feeling helpless and feeling happy, I choose the latter. I cannot stop living the way I do for fear of what the future might hold for me.

28 responses »

  1. >I love your attitude & I aa just like that & I guess most of us are. I have posted yesterday abuut the austerity measures we r taking in the Company but personally , life is just going on the way it should, with preparations for Diwali 🙂

  2. >”It’s just that I don’t have an option but to go on with life doing what makes me happy. And is there anything I can do to make things different?” – Yes, you do have an option. The effort taken to make another’s Life beautiful could potentially turn out to be a better investment than into any monetary fund.Imagine how difficult life is for the maid, the dhobi, the doodh-waal, the auto/car driver, et al in these times of rising inflation in a depressed global economy. And please spare a thought for the beggars (who don’t choose to beg) and the people ‘confined’ within sundry homes (old-age, widows, orphans, mental institutions); there are several opporuntities to make these guys feel loved, cared for and respected.I don’t intend this to be a sentimental rant or a castigation of any sort, but please understand each of us always has a choice. After all, we are partcipants in a democracy and not inhabitants in a banana republic.JAI HIND! (And have a wonderful and safe Diwali!)

  3. >like all great philosophies so simply say – ‘be in the moment’. sometimes the best is not enough, but that doesn’t mean that one has not given 100%. we do what we can and leave the rest to…

  4. >”It’s just that I don’t have an option but to go on with life doing what makes me happy.” Very ture…I like the attitude :)There is no use worrying about the future and not do our best at the present time. The best we can do is hope for better times ahed.

  5. >Que Sera Sera……’I cannot stop living the way I do for fear of what the future might hold for me’.Just the right attitude….live in the present…past is gone, future is not known……..you sure can write……love your writing. I have stopped looking at the stock market. No point. Your last line quoted above is so true.

  6. >@Stray: And what makes you assume that that is not a choice I have already made? How can you assume that “doing what makes me happy” does not include charity (all that you’ve mentioned here does amount to charity)? What makes you think I don’t already help the house help just because I don’t think it’s appropriate to tell the world about it?Your rant is rather misplaced. @How do we know: I’m celebrating the festival just the way I always have – and it’s never been extravagant. I shop for things I’ve been putting off for a long time. I buy gifts usually for my family, so this time too. I party throughout the year, a little more at this time of the year because the weather is much better. And I don’t know if my being conservative this Diwali will help at all. @Monika, Mac, Astralwicks, Jira: I’m glad you all agree!@JPJ: Thank you. I love compliments like that 🙂

  7. >I don’t worry about the state of the economy and the drop in my investments either; no point stressing about things out of your control. But I do remind myself from time to time of how lucky I am to be able to enjoy a ‘normal’ life in the midst of this troubled economy.

  8. >:) Didn’t make any such assumption, D – either in the comment or otherwise.I was addressing a single statement and putting forward my POV; wasn’t taking it on or debating you on a personal note.

  9. >Keep living, what will be will be..que sera sera.Doom and gloom is all we hear all the time in London..how christmas will be miserable..etc etc..and what can I do? not spend..make it worse, spend and make it worse? what what what..happy diwali!

  10. >Hey, I love the background on your blog! Its awesome! Do tell how/ where you got it!It is taking a mite longer for the page to load tho, which I’m attributing to the background.

  11. >@globalindyan: I do that all the time – thank God for everything I have!@Stray: You’re addressing the “one statement” out of context. When I ask if there’s anything I can do to make a difference, it is pertaining to the recession and the economy. The options you’ve stated are available to us even in financially happier times. And I’m glad you liked the background :)@Morpheus: That’s a good question – do we make it worse by not spending or by spending?@Crystal: Thanks!@Vinz: Really 🙂

  12. >@muddleheaded: Have you muddled up this thing with something else? The current economic slowdown is a global phenomenon – nothing to do with our governments necessarily.

  13. >i am not much into the technicalities of the whole issue, and i only understand it superficially.but i feel there is one thing we can do – and that is, choose not to go the quick money / credit way, just like the west has. and i see it creeping in here too. i mean, i get calls everyday asking me if i want loans. i say, even if someone didn’t really need the money, we have banks willing to dump it upon us.tell me if i am making sense. its seems quite dark, the whole issue. a lot of people tell me that the worst thing about the problem is – they don’t know how deep the hell hole is going, yet.hope u had a good festival. i’ve a feeling i’ve grown too cynical for celebrations. and parties, well i never was the socializing kinds anyways. wat was good was the time i got at home, with the parents, and loads of good that i got to eat, without having to cook it myself 🙂

  14. >I’m glad so many of you like the new backdrop! And Happy Diwali to everyone!@devaki: As long as I’m not acting irresponsibly, jo hoga dekha jayega works for me.globalindyan: Nope, I didn’t get any mail from you :(@IHM: I guess it makes us feel better than we’re not alone in the sinking ship ;)@Mystic Margarita: Exactly!@Dbum: Oh well, I’m totally party types! As for what we can do, I totally agree with you. I don’t think it makes any sense to be spending what you don’t have. I mean, it’s alright if it’s a house or a car that you’re borrowing for because it’s difficult to have that kind of ready cash. But for other things, I’m still conservative and think borrowing isn’t prudent.

Leave a Reply

