>The Dead End of Life – Part One

>In the last one month, I’ve seen several lives come to naught. Some expected, others not. I’ve seen a comatose relative finally make peace with life and death after years of drifting in a zone of lifelessness. I’ve seen my father’s aunt pass away in her sleep. I’ve seen 50-year olds bid farewell to a father who had prepared his children for this parting with years of illness. And I’ve seen my 20-something cousins grapple with the sudden, unexpected demise of their father, however superfluous his presence might have been. I’ve seen an 84-year old lady die alone because her successful children were too busy to come back home in time to meet her.

But the show must go on – of living, of making sense of this Life. When you see lives around you ending, there is no alternative but to understand that there are things that you control and there are things your don’t, to know that Death is the great leveller and that no matter what you’ve achieved in your life, in that one moment when you breathe your last, you know you have no right on your own life, have never had, that there’s a power over you that you cannot overrule.

Life goes on – whether you exist or you don’t. It might change, but it never stops. wI hear aging people wonder aloud how their children will manage when they’re dead, it amuses me. No, it bothers me, how they think they run lives around them, that those lives may cease to exist as they do, once they are gone. It doesn’t work that way. “Consider the ravens, for they neither sow nor reap; they have no storeroom nor barn, and yet God feeds them; how much more valuable you are than the birds!”

You may agree with that or you may not, but I’m glad I have the faith that will let me die in peace, even if I do not live with it. And I’m sorry for those people who do not find a release in Death from ties that pull and bind us in this life.

12 responses »

  1. >sure enuf..And I totally agree with it..Nobody has a control over death and its inevitable..But,I would love dying in peace rather than it being titanic struggle..Thanks for takin off the WV thing and I have added you into my floaters.. 🙂

  2. >Hi ,I was reading ur blog posts and found some of them to be wow.. u write well.. Why don’t you popularize it more.. ur posts on ur blog ‘let me be me’ took my particular attention as some of them are interesting topics of mine too;BTW I help out some ex-IIMA guys who with another batch mate run http://www.rambhai.com where you can post links to your most loved blog-posts. Rambhai was the chaiwala at IIMA and it is a site where users can themselves share links to blog posts etc and other can find and vote on them. The best make it to the homepage!This way you can reach out to rambhai readers some of whom could become your ardent fans.. who knows.. :)Cheers,

  3. >When I was a kid, and a close relative died, I wondered why life didn’t come to a stop. I was aghast that people were going on with their lives like nothing has happened. As cliche as it sounds, the phrase, “The show must go on” is truly apt. No one stops living their lives.

  4. >@Menon: Don’t we all want a peaceful death rather than a violent one?@Lover: It’s one of those verses that makes you feel secure in the thought that there is some out there looking out for you.@Ray: But why is that website called “rambhai”? It’s so uninspiring!@Nitin: No, death is not nirvana. Nirvana is the freedom from the cycle of birth and death.@Whippersnapper: I agree.@Solitaire: 🙂

  5. >i’d rather die an adventurous death – scaling some snowy mountain or riding a lonely highway o something…oh, and yes, parents unfortunately don’t seem to look much beyond their kids…had a recetn talk with dad when it came out again.

  6. >@Zypsy: Yes, but they seem to be answers to questions that we can’t come up with answers for!@Dbum: You can be an peace even while scaling a snowy mountain. The peace has to come from within.@Monika: Thank you 🙂

  7. >Well written!People always praise a person after his/her death–Such a helpful lady she was.. She was soo good.. God does this to honest ppl ..and what not… Tired of listening to such stuffs!

Leave a Reply

