>Can I postpone my birthday to next year?

I don’t want anything to do with my birthday this year. I don’t want the cake and candles, the flowers and the phone calls. I don’t want a guest list or the gifts. I love being in the spotlight, but I do not want the attention this time. Does it sound totally ridiculous to not want a birthday at all – just this year?!

What will my birthday cake be like – chocolate truffle or chocolate & strawberry or chocolate & orange mousse or whatever? Do I really care except for their calorie count? What will I wear on my birthday. So many silly celebrations later, do I really care? What do I want this birthday? If you can’t think, why should I?

Maybe, it has something to do with growing up and realising that your birthday is just another day in the calendar. Maybe, it’s because I’m feeling fat. Maybe, it has nothing to do with any of this. Maybe, it’s the fuss that I’m fretting over. Maybe I don’t want people to make a big deal about the day I was born because these people don’t remember me on other, more important days of the year. Because my birthday party seems like just another good excuse for people to raise a toast to nothing and because I hate toasts, only this year though, and they don’t know that! Maybe, I’m just not in the mood. Maybe these are what they call birthday blues. So why can’t I postpone my birthday this year?

PS: Today is not my birthday

19 responses »

  1. >Noooo….. don’t postpone it this year coz this the first year i’ll be wishing you. Hey! Happy Birthday Devanshi[the first person i met in LT the first person to whom i gave my first subjective article, diaspora, the first person to tell me to get out of LT]

  2. >Apparently you are not aware of the UN resolution 1598 which clearly states that “Women’s age will progress from 26 to 46 whenever they are READY for it – and not consecutively as has been in the past”. (This is pretty fair deal since they try to look 25-26 even when they are just 16-17).Men believe that beauty of the world will disappear if the other half of the world thinks she is ugly or old. There will not be any shairi, no films, and no well cooked dinners with or without candle lights. The resolution was moved by the President of Jebron, the country that I am from, and it was approved 5000-1. The lone dissenting vote was cast by the women prime minister of a country who suspected men’s conspiracy to keep women out of political offices.The margin of approval 5000-1 suggest that some courtiers voted twice and thrice and rumor has it that even some Gods, and aliens too took part in the voting, suggesting a universe wide problem faced by human kind.So, take heart and celebrate your birthday which I think was last Saturday!!Shahid SayedPresidentDepression Hatao Foudnation(For women, almost women, and anything but women!)

  3. >Et tu Didi?Birthday blues.Yes.Blah….***Oh no 😦 I usually mould my dreams to make me sleep… usually they are extremes. Extreme sorrow or extreme joy…Ah. Mr. Sigmund Freud. Mad man. Genius. Etc.PP has a way around words, as do each and every one of you!

  4. >birthday is just another day..btw..u said on sayes sahab’s blog dat u r a poet of hindurdu(i call dat hindustani)..but i dont c any of ur poetic works here.. 😦

  5. >I know what u mean … sigh, I am already getting ready to curl into the fetus like position and die, half way to 50 in a few months !!!yes, quite the positive thinker I am :)p.s:- yer pwetty 🙂

  6. >Thank a mother for taking the pains for you to be born. That’s what a birthday is all about. Then, birthdays are good reminders of the fact that many things once thought to be impossible will naturally become simple things that anyone can do. Like, going for a lone walk 🙂 Happy b’day, everyday!

  7. >@eram: thank u darling. just remember it was for you that i’ve said what i’ve said.@Shahid: Did I say anything about me being a woman here? You’re reading a tad too much between the lines!@Prince: Seems like there’s more in comoon between us than just sun signs :)@anirudh: i said i speak hindurdu, or hindustani, but sorry to disappoint you, i write in english!@andrew: thanks! that’s surely going to help me@once again: thank u for giving me a lesson in positive thinking! and thank u again@jubin: thank u so much for giving me all those reasons to feel good abt my birthday… make perfect sense!

  8. >Cool, if you dont want to celebrate your birthday, just thank your mother for all the trouble she went thru just to bring you around. Dont celebrate you, celebrate her. You can get celebrated every year.

  9. >@How do we know: That’s a great idea. But then, what will I do on her birthday?!@Macabreday: Maybe. And thanks. Go ahead, make me happy, add a link!

  10. >Happy no-birthday, then. Hate ’em too … always seems like the white strands of hair on my head are glowing more brightly than the candles on the cake. And birthdays always mean having to go through the rest of the month broke. Now now – I’d better not get started…

  11. >i felt exactly the same way this year before my birthday.. and the reason was me turning 25 , i suddenly feel that NOW its high time i start acting like a grown up. not happening

  12. >@Jimmy: Yes, of course, I think it must be the broke bit!@D: I know what you’re talking about…@Dhruva: Blah!@Gin.Vodka: Wow! I didn’t know there were people who were as cynical as me! Lol! Great… join the club 🙂

  13. >heya… thats no exuse not to have a party… i want ma cake mann… you dont have any if your watching your calories… i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cake i want ma cakeyo… finally the jinx is off i guess… heres to a loooong life… yours and mine too lols (you know whats that for)nutsy

  14. >@Nutsy: No gift, no cake! LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL

Leave a Reply

